Three Women Share Nobel Peace Prize 2011


The Norwegian Nobel Committee announced Peace Prize winners On Saturday, December 10.

The Norwegian Nobel Committee announced its decision to give this year’s Nobel Peace Prize on Oct. 7, 2011 to the three women for “their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace building work.” The three laureates of the Nobel Peace Prize, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Tawakkul Karman and Leymah Gbowee, received their awards from the chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee in Norway. Ellen Johnson Sirleaf became the president of Liberia in 2006 and was the first democratically-elected woman president in Africa. Leymah Gbowee is also from Liberia. Tawakkul Karman is a female icon of the protest movement in Yemen. The other Nobel Prizes in medicine, chemistry, physics and literature, and the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences were presented at a separate ceremony in Stockholm on Saturday.

Watch video below: