Tony Stewart Win Third NASCAR Sprint Cup Title

Tony Stewart
Tony Stewart

Tony Stewart won the Ford 400 after a final restart on a soggy Sunday night.

Stewart claimed his third title by becoming the first driver to clinch the championship by winning the season finale. Stewart won Cup championships in 2002 and 2005 while driving for Joe Gibbs Racing. Stewart passed everyone and anyone, including Carl Edwards, who had dominated the first half of the season-ending Ford 400, in driving from 40th place to the lead. Stewart’s fifth win in the 10-race Chase for the Sprint Cup left him tied with Edwards. Stewart won his third NASCAR championship by virtue of having the most wins. Stewart is the ninth driver in NASCAR history to win three or more championships. The list also includes Lee Petty, Darrell Waltrip and Cale Yarborough. All are in the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

Watch video below: